What the New Aged Care Quality Standards Mean for You

on the Tuesday, July 16, 2019

On July 1 2019, the Aged Care Quality & Safety Commission’s new Aged Care Quality Standards came into effect, ensuring that all aged care providers in Australia provide consumers with high quality services in a safe environment.

Each provider of aged care must comply with a set of eight standards that guarantee each and every resident and client remains safe and their health and well-being is taken care of.

The eight standards are:

  1. Consumer dignity and choice
  2. Ongoing assessment and planning with consumers
  3. Personal care and clinical care
  4. Services and supports for daily living
  5. Organisation’s service environment
  6. Feedback and complaints
  7. Human resources
  8. Organisational governance

These standards allow consumers of aged care services to receive appropriate person-centered care that respects their needs, choices, culture and beliefs.

Aged Care Quality and Safety Commissioner Janet Anderson PSM said the new standards raise the bar by strengthening the focus on consumer-centred care which respects the dignity and identity of the individual and seeks to improve their experiences and outcomes of care.

“The new standards require aged care providers to work with each of their consumers to ensure that they receive safe, quality care that is shaped by the consumer’s needs, goals and preferences,” she said.

“The new standards are an important step in aged care reform which will help providers to clarify their responsibilities and help consumers to know what they can expect from aged care services.

“The new standards were developed following extensive consultation with consumers, service providers, experts and the wider community.”

You can find out more about the new Aged Care Quality Standards here.

Search for residential aged care:

Search for home care:

Search for retirement villages: